Ancient Sites Mountains Popular Destinations Seven Wonders of the World World Heritage Sites

Satellite Image of Himalayan Range, Tibet

Pleiades-1A Satellite Image of Himalayan Range, Tibet, China

satellite image himalya range tibet

Click image to view in high resolution.

Copyright © AIRBUS Defence and Space and Courtesy of Satellite Imaging Corporation. All rights reserved.

Pleiades-1 Satellite Image (0.5m) – Himalayan Range, Tibet is home to some of the planet’s highest peaks, including the highest, Mount Everest. The Himalayans include over a hundred mountains exceeding 7,200 metres (23,600 ft) in height. The Himalayas have profoundly shaped the cultures of South Asia. Many Himalayan peaks are sacred in both Hinduism and Buddhism.

Besides the Greater Himalayas of these high peaks there are parallel lower ranges. The first foothills, reaching about a thousand meters along the northern edge of the plains, are called the Sivalik Hills or Sub-Himalayan Range. Further north is a higher range reaching two to three thousand meters known as the Lower Himalayan or Mahabharat Range.

The Himalayans abut or cross five countries: Bhutan, India, Nepal, China, and Pakistan and bordered on the northwest by the Karakoram and Hindu Kush ranges, on the north by the Tibetan Plateau, and on the south by the Indo-Gangetic Plain.

Three of the world’s major rivers, the Indus, the Ganges, and the Tsangpo-Brahmaputra all rise near Mount Kailash to cross and encircle the Himalayas. Their combined drainage basin is home to some 600 million people. Read more on the Himalayas.


Comments are closed.