Beaches Manmade Structures Popular Destinations Seven Wonders of the World World Heritage Sites

Satellite Image of Copacabana Beach, Rio De Janeiro

GeoEye-1 Satellite Image of Copacabana Beach, Rio De Janeiro

satellite image copocabana beach

Click image to view in high resolution.

Copyright © DigitalGlobe and Courtesy Satellite Imaging Corporation

GeoEye-1 Satellite Image (0.5m) – Copacabana Beach, named after the Copacabana borough in the southern zone of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Rio is the second largest city in Brazil. According to news sources, Copacabana borough has 63 hotels and 10 hostels and will be one of the four Olympic Zones during the 2016 Summer Olympics. The image was collected by the GeoEye-1 satellite on Jan. 28, 2011 while flying 423 miles above the Earth at an average speed of 17,000 mph.

Rio De Janeiro was the capital of Brazil for nearly two centuries, from 1763 to 1815 during the Portuguese colonial era, 1815 to 1821 as the capital of the United Kingdom of Portugal, Brazil and Algarves, and 1822 to 1960 as an independent nation. Rio is nicknamed the Cidade Maravilhosa or “Marvelous City”.

Rio de Janeiro is the most visited city in the southern hemisphere and is known for its natural settings, carnival celebrations, samba, Bossa Nova, balneario beaches such as Barra da Tijuca, Copacabana, Ipanema, and Leblon. Some of the most famous landmarks in addition to the beaches include the giant statue of Christ the Redeemer (“Cristo Redentor”) atop Corcovado mountain, named one of the New Seven Wonders of the World; Sugarloaf mountain with its cable car; the Sambodromo, a permanent grandstand-lined parade avenue which is used during Carnival; and Maracana Stadium, one of the world’s largest football stadiums. Read more about Rio De Janeiro.

Comments are closed.