Earth Art Mountains Popular Destinations Water and Ice World Heritage Sites

Satellite Image of Patagonia ‘Valley of the Glaciers’

satellite photo patagonia chile

ASTER (15m) Satellite Image of Patagonia, Chile

Click image to view in full resolution

(Image Credit: NASA/Japanese Space Team)

Chilean Patagonia begins at the Pacific ocean in Valdivia through Río Calle towards the cordillera of the Andes up to its highest peaks. There, where the waters flow to the Pacific Ocean, is the Chilean territory and where the water flows to the east towards the Atlantic ocean is a territory of Argentina. Chilean territory stretches from Valdivia to Cape horn, including the western side of Tierra del fuego island (62% of which is Chilean) in addition to all of Cape Horn and the Strait of magellan, to the north through the fjords to Chiloe island and Puerto Montt, and including in particular the Archeological site of Monte Verde, Puerto Varas, lake Llanquihue, Frutillar, Osorno and Valdivia.

ASTER satellite image (above) acquired on May 2, 2000 over the North Patagonia Ice Sheet. The false color composite displays vegetation in red and dramatically shows a single large glacier, covered with crevasses. A semi-circular terminal moraine indicates that the glacier was once more extensive than at present. Image credit: NASA/GSFC/METI/ERSDAC/JAROS and U.S./Japan ASTER Science Team.

It can be said that Chilean Patagonia is divided into two types of territories: the “Patagonia Insular” which includes all the fjords and channels along the Pacific Ocean down to Tierra del Fuego, and the “Cordillera Patagonica” which includes valleys and glaciers towards the steep mountains of the cordillera where Argentinean Patagonia begins, where the valleys are more arid and the terrain persists in the cold desert known as “Pampa Patagonica”, towards the long route to the Atlantic Ocean.


Comments are closed.